Skip to content

mystery building

May 26, 2011

I am so honored to post and excited about this work. In a booth at ICFF an artful but strange assortment of furry benches,tilt up lights and a chair fit for the new Marie Antionette calmly sat in the middle of all the urgent buzz of the fair.  The author was no where in sight but a beautiful little calling card suggested the young “designartist” could be in touch if necessary.  I e-mailed feeling like I would never hear a thing and few days later I simple but elegant e-mail arrived explaining that the chair I was so taken with was inspired by THE JAPAN ATOMIC CRISIS. Wow what a shift. I had felt strange about walking through miles of shiny product and I had left the Alabama tornado zones and hearing about the crest of water along the Mississippi-The e-mail said to me “I make things and I care about the world too”….. Thank you Shawn Soh, I hope you where off some where thinking and caring deeply during the fair, it will make the world a better place.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

