Skip to content

new building…hum

May 22, 2012

Sorry about not posting yesterday but I went to ICFF thinking was going to be dazzled and I came back well confused.   I saw some dear friends and chatted, talked through the current economy and what is good work these days. But I was just rattled by the work at ICFF. I know my filter is different these days, I am not buying for clients and I think my work will never be well as polished and zipped up tight as most of the work exhibited so it just may never make sense for me. I get confused and unhungry at the grocery store so who am I to criticize the venue. I have enjoyed teaching so much this year in NYC that I wonder if I have am just addicted to the asking of questions that design schools bring forth and immune to the finished condition of a trade show. So the things I tended to like are work from the schools represented. Case in point, work out of the Institute of Design The University of Tokyo. This dear little chair speaks to me. And the inquiry or genesis of the work asks, Have you ever considered your relationship to a chair?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

