Skip to content

women building

August 28, 2012

I am reading for research on a project Merritt Ierley’s Open House,a Guided Tour of the American Home-1637-Present. In the middle of the book I spied an antidote about Harriett Beecher Stowe and I had to skip ahead. Evidently, with her earnings from Uncle Tom’s Cabin she built this house Oakholm to illustrate her status in Hartford society and to her faith. The contractor was bad and after plumbing leaks, plaster falling and other such building nightmare’s she retreated to a house on Forest Ave in Hartford that was more pragmatic. It is said Oakholm broke her heart. Can a house do that?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    August 28, 2012 12:17 pm

    Can a house break your heart? There can be an awakening that shatters illusions, as in my case. Maybe she had a moon in cancer and ‘home’ had significant meaning for her. I am hoping it has not ‘broken’ me for another house and garden some day. Meanwhile, learning. How do you phrase it with the cafe? “Ill fated?” I am salvaging knowledge from my experience, but not the kitchen cabinets.

  2. Sara permalink
    August 28, 2012 12:28 pm

    …and I have been surprised by that phrase (ill-fated) in regard to the cafe both times I have seen it written. I’m not in your shoes, so from here it looks like it was a success as a constructive space; the cafe and the apartment. Maybe it was not successful economically. Maybe we are both brave for making good construction, and just have more to learn economically. Landing on our feet.

Leave a Reply

