Skip to content

building pissed

September 22, 2012

Anthropologie chair-2012 fall cataloge

Okay its my blog and I can whine if I want to- This has been bugging me all week. I can not prove that the designers at Anthropologie have been looking at my work on-line-it has been on line since 2008, but it feels strangely familiar and I can say that there are some things that I can tell by these pieces that the consumer should be aware of. 1- At a price point of $340.00 it is not being made in the U.S. I have tried to do this work for years, it takes upward of 10 hours to complete a piece and I pay an assistant or myself at least fair wage and that means that cost is $1000.00 hence I have only sold these to friends and galleries. So, a  corporation is not supporting American designers OR artisans. 2- These are probably not recycled chairs. Working with found objects is very hard and also almost impossible to make structurally sound without a lot of reinforcing. I see no reinforcing so I bet they are new chairs chopped up and distressed for this purpose. 3-Had said corporation paid a seasoned designer to work with them, said designer would have used money earned to buy cute dresses at their store for her daughter-now she will not. Way to lose a customer Anthropologie

Annie Coggan-pointe shoe chair 2008

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    September 22, 2012 1:50 pm

    time to take up twitter.. no one should be supporting Richard Hayne or this company ever. no urban outfitters, no anthropology, and defiantly no terrain… the bloggers that support this companies weekly need to really take a moment to examine what they stand for. so sorry annie, it sucks.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/arts-post/post/urban-outfitters-all-its-recent-controversies-explained/2012/03/29/gIQAP2lDjS_blog.html

    http://www.change.org/petitions/urban-outfitters-ceo-richard-hayne-stop-support-for-anti-lgbt-rights-politicians-show-support-for-lgbtrights

    • September 22, 2012 3:12 pm

      Amy, I am on twitter-@AnnieCoggan-please retweet!

  2. Jean Glenn permalink
    September 22, 2012 2:27 pm

    As an artist, I am always worried about theft of ideas. Would a copy write have protected you? Despite, you would still have a case but you against a corp = david v gollieth. You’re chairs are better – can tell even online!

  3. September 22, 2012 2:46 pm

    Wow, that’s pretty solid design theft…shame on Anthropology

  4. September 22, 2012 2:55 pm

    Thanks guys for the support but the only power we have is saying it out loud and our wallet. Send the post around PLease!

  5. Sara permalink
    September 22, 2012 4:06 pm

    I noticed this on your twitter, and am glad you wrote a full post, and appreciate the comments too. I’ve had other friends with this same problem- other companies and large lawsuits ensued. It was worse, they’d been selling a product to a store, and the store turned around and had the exact same product made in China. The whole lack of human respect is overwhelming but you are right people really need to speak out about it.

  6. Sara permalink
    September 22, 2012 4:18 pm

    I just posted your post on my FB page, with this preface:
    ‘Just coincidentally I posted a line of a book on a friends facebook page for his free library. Library 451 – Biblioteca 451. There was a little game connected to International Book Week. The rules: Grab the closest book to you, turn to page 54, post the 5th sentence as your status.
    Oddly the quote i found was related to business, and the fact that there needs to be a big change. I don’t have the answer; but my artful and business savvy friends, please read this article below and share it with your friends.
    First the quote I found; “In fact, Paul’s approach could serve as a model if we wish to move forward from the ugliness of the current business ethos.” Spitalfields Life. by The Gentle Author. Salt-Yard book company.

    now for the article. Samson / Goliath or just plain lack of respect for other humans?’

  7. Alana Blum permalink
    September 26, 2012 12:55 am

    My favorite quote from the aformentioned link by tami:

    Tyler Hays, founder of BDDW, has seen his furniture ripped off, down to the last detail, many times over the years. Though he’s been successful at stopping two companies from selling knockoffs of his work, he says the experience “brings up confusing emotions. It’s like being catcalled—it’s flattering but gross and insulting at the same time.”

    Read more: http://www.dwell.com/articles/the-real-cost-of-rip-offs.html#ixzz27X6KLq7r

  8. Mary Sanders permalink
    October 11, 2012 12:48 am

    When I saw these I immediately thought of you! I even googled you + Anthropologie to see if they had worked with you and that is how I came across this post.

    • anniec permalink*
      October 11, 2012 12:54 am

      oh but good to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

