Skip to content

the work of great ladies

October 27, 2012

I have had a really great week of historic house visits, cups of Cafe du Mode and mom talk with my childhood friend Ms. Deans. Ms Deans blew my mind with a trip to Hillwood Estate in Chevy Chase. Property of Mrs. Merriweather Post, this carefully calibrated collection and grounds are so amazing. Many things intrigued me and I found my response to things intriguing- hate porcelain collections but loved the way she collected porcelain and objects. Beautiful discreet built-in cabinetry throughout, special vestibule (square and round) rooms that acted as collector’s cabinets. Masterful wallpaper and decorative painting and color choices that changed the tone of each room, never before have been so pro wall treatment.  I now love Russian and French furniture together and I thought I only loved modernist furniture. And we are not even to the featured exhibition; Isabelle de Borchgrave’s paper dresses. The curator for this exhibit has produced the first holistic response to art work as intervention in historic rooms that has been successful-I really applaud the thinking that placed each dress in its context-just excellent. I am a fan, a fan, a fan…can not wait to go back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    October 27, 2012 6:35 pm

    I was still kind of ‘hungry’ – wanting to see more color- from your post about the Arlington House, but now you have made it up in spades. Those paper dresses are amazing. Okay, I still want more room color, but am just greedy I guess.

    • October 27, 2012 7:28 pm

      oh color and Arlington House is a project that probably will appear in another publication. I will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

