Skip to content

buildings and voting

November 6, 2012

 

Voting in Redhook, Brooklyn was wonderful. I scanned my ballot and the gentleman proudly said “And your vote has been counted!” Polling Places traditionally are in neighborhood public schools which I have always found interesting. One, I am a sucker for a public school paint scheme (this one pictured is PPAS). The colors of brick-spotted some yellow glazed brick today, the linoleum tile hallways and the layers of high gloss hyper pigmented painted steel doors just inspire me. Composed, tidy and orderly my kind of interior. But I am interested in why America does not have special buildings for voting-a sacred space? I once heard that in Greek islands there is a special building in the center of town for voting. I just wonder what the consequences of architecture might be to this democratic idea?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

