Skip to content

strange building

May 12, 2013

cremaster 2

So, yesterday I took my FIT class to the Morgan Library. The point I was trying to make is to show them the power of a historic interior and how it can house, nurture and promote the ideas of the avant-garde with the current exhibition of Matthew Barney. The Morgan did its job in a noble fashion, epic robber baron rooms, lapis column fragments, illuminated manuscripts-you know mystery and history at every turn. But Mr Barney did not help me out. Perhaps I am a juxtaposition addict, I envisioned large resin “anything” draped over marble rooms and staircases. What we got was a very polite exhibition with oddly discreet drawings from Barney’s epic films. My students were intrigued but I wanted more. So strange to understand Barney’s muscular work and then see tiny cryptic drawings. No judgement, I suppose its how he thinks, but is he telling us everything at the Morgan? Oh, read this NYT’s review and enjoy the comment that perhaps his tool box is that of 70’s Feminist art-can’t say I saw this on my visit but love the premise.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

