Skip to content

and then there is building light

September 14, 2013

 

james turrell

I am so very lucky to live in a city that has had a James Turrell show. I took students there last week and the experience was well at the time not life changing, but I have thought about it all week and I am glad I took the time. Things that I came away with which oddly might seem like “life lessons” that Mr Turrell crafted; Always go back and see a work twice-I did with the rotunda piece and the two experiences were amazing,

james turrel 2

Always look at the back of projects. This is a Turrell problem, he works so hard to have you NOT look at the back but I found myself marveling at how well made the scrim was, how nicely the geometry fit into the Frank Lloyd Wright’s building. And finally, don’t judge immediately, think about what you see-now I know this work will be with me for years to come.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

